The opening leg of the Triple Crown in the United States is just over a week away. A talented field of runners will go to post in the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs in the hope of chasing the dream of becoming a Triple Crown winner. But, will there be a special three-year-old to win all legs of the Triple Crown this season?

Schedule & How To Watch

  • When: Saturday, May 4, 2024
  • Where: Churchill Downs, Kentucky
  • How To Watch: NBC

Before Betting On Triple Crown Winner Odds

There are few more historic achievements in American racing than winning all three legs of the Triple Crown series. This year’s event gets underway with the Kentucky Derby at the start of May, before the Preakness Stakes is run two weeks later. The Triple Crown is rounded off at Belmont Park in June when the Belmont Stakes could crown a champion three-year-old.

Throughout history, only 13 horses have won the Triple Crown, with the first coming in the form of Sir Barton in 1919. The 1930s saw three further Triple Crown winners crowned in the forms of Gallant Fox, Omaha, and War Admiral. The 1940s saw Whirlaway, Count Fleet, Assault, and Citation add their names to the prestigious roll of honor.

Secretariat became the most famous runner to achieve the feat in 1973, before Seattle Slew and Affirmed won the Triple Crown in successive years. However, there would be no further Triple Crown winners until American Pharoah in 2015, before Justify became the latest horse to join the list in 2018.

In recent years, horses have typically bypassed the Preakness Stakes after winning the Kentucky Derby, including Rich Strike, who didn’t take his chance after winning the Derby at a huge price. It could also be worth noting that Bob Baffert’s ban at Churchill Downs means that the trainer will likely point his leading three-year-old runners at the Belmont Stakes this year.

Triple Crown Winner Offshore Odds & Pick

Triple Crown Winner?Odds

Winning the Triple Crown is no easy feat, but runners such as Fierceness, Sierra Leone, and Forever Young could make bold bids this year. However, we struggle to see a 14th champion being crowned this year.